In response to Hugh…


If you define Art as a process or activity that purposefully seeks to affect the senses or emotions, I challenge you to remain un-inspired by the provocative Hugh MacLeod of Gaping Void. Hugh’s eloquence with the jagged line and cutting commentary is pure artistry.  Clearly – his gift to the world is to make us think and have fun at the same time.

Therefore, when he recently laid down the challenge to show him something back; to write 500 words or less to interest and excite him to a cause that he could care enough about to draw one of his infamous cube grenades, I had to throw my hat in the ring!

Now I have to say – I’m not one of those who will try to outwit, outlast and outplay the thousands of other ‘applicants’ that will surely lay claim to this generous offer.  That would mean simply shouting at the top of my voice “Pick Me… Pick Me… I’m the best…” without really adding any value to the process.

See, I figure that Hugh has the mind of an artist. Just as he seeks to inspire and provoke us to a new perspective, he’s pleading with us (his audience) to provide the same gift back…  He wants to feel inspired and compelled to align with the cause and commit to its advocacy.  And perhaps, just maybe, there’s a little bit of soul searching to see if anyone ‘gets’ what he’s doing. Yeah, we all love the cartoons and many of us subscribe to the newsletter to have a social object to circulate. But is that enough??? Are we making the world a different place because we enjoy Hugh’s work?

The Wallace Effect is an entrepreneurial venture still in its humble infancy, but the seeds have been germinating for some time.  With optimal growth conditions, my goal is to provoke new thinking, develop new approaches and inspire full potential in people and their organizations.   Named after Alfred Russell Wallace, who provoked Charles Darwin to go beyond his religious sensitivities and think bigger with his theories, The Wallace Effect is first and foremost an agent for cultural change.  For businesses that are looking to evolve and align their strategies, embed change in their culture and energise their results, they must first consider what prevents them from reaching their full growth potential today and what will help them adapt to their competitive environment more successfully in the future.

In my own way, with the directness of my questions, the candour of my observations, and the practicality of my solutions, I aim to do for my clients what Hugh is trying to do for all of us in his gallery – inspire change.

www.thewallaceeffect.ca

https://thewallaceeffect.wordpress.com/

http://twitter.com/GabyORourke

So Hugh, if you’re reading this – Thank you for making a difference. I would love it if you could help me do the same by expressing “The Wallace Effect” in visual form.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

